News from the European Composer and Songwriter Alliance on Advocacy work and activities in the music and culture sector - July edition






European Commission: Election of Ursula Von der Leyen as new President of the European Commission


On 16 July 2019, following the proposal by the European Council, Mrs. Ursula von der Leyen (Member of the CDU, Germany) has been elected as new President of the European Commission with a narrow margin of 383 votes in favour and 327 against. She presented her political priorities (see here) where cultural policies do not feature as an important priority. She previously served in Mrs. Merkel’s German federal government as Minister of State, Minister of Family Affairs and Youth, Minister of Labour and Social Affairs and Minister of Defence. Her brother is Hans-Holger Albrecht, CEO of Deezer.

Mrs. Von der Leyen will now have to form a new team and assign portfolios to the Commissioners currently being designated by each Member States. The European Parliament will then organize hearings in September/October with the Commissioners designate before the responsible parliamentary committees. Ultimately, the European Parliament will have to approve the new European Commission (as a whole) before it enters office on 1st November 2019. ECSA will closely monitor this process in the field of culture and authors’rights (Culture and Legal Affairs committees), with a view to defend and promote the rights of music authors during the forthcoming legislature.


European Parliament: Election of David Sassoli as President of the European Parliament (EP) and formation of the EP committees


On 3 July 2019, Italian S&D Member David Sassoli was elected as new European Parliament’s President with 345 votes out of 667 votes cast in the second ballot. He is a former TV journalist and has been a MEP since 2009. Later in July, the different EP committees held their first meetings where they elected their Chair and Vice-Chairs for a two-and-a-half-year term: Mrs. Sabine Verheyen (EPP, Germany – Rapporteur of the AVMS Directive) has been elected as Chair of the Culture and Education committee (CULT). CULT also elected its 1st Vice-Chair, Romeo Franz (Greens, Germany), a violin and guitar player, as well as its 2nd Vice-Chair, Dace Melbārde (ECR, Latvia- Latvian minister of culture between 2013 till 2019 ) and its 3rd Vice-Chair, Julie Ward (S&D, UK), a strong supporter of the Copyright Directive). Massimiliano Smeriglio (S&D-Italy) has replaced Mrs. Silvia Costa as rapporteur on the next Creative Europe Program whereas Tomasz Frankowski (EPP-Poland) will also play an important role on this file as EPP shadow rapporteur.

In the Legal Affairs committee (JURI / competent on authors’ rights), JURI Members elected Lucy NETHSINGHA (Renew Europe, UK ) as Chair, Sergey LAGODINSKY (Greens, Germany) as first Vice-Chair, Marion WALSMANN (EPP, Germany) as second Vice-Chair, Ibán GARCIA DEL BLANCO (S&D-Spain) as third Vice-Chair and Raffaele STANCANELLI (ECR) as the fourth Vice-Chair. Please find here and here the full list of MEPs in CULT and JURI. ECSA will continue to reach out to those MEPs so that they duly take into account the views and needs of creators.


ECCO Concert: Selection Announced


On 4th July, the ECCO Artistic Committee consisting of chair Dušan Bavdek (Slovenia), Jana Andreevska (North Macedonia), Irina Hasnas (Romania) and Olli Virtaperko (Finland) and Jörgen Pettersson, member of the Stockholm Saxophone Quartet, selected the pieces for the 13th edition of the ECCO concert which will take place at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm on 8th October 2019.

The selected composers and their pieces are the following:

• Benjamin Lang (Germany) – Old Scatness
• Nils Henrik Asheim (Norway) – Glasshus
• Nina Šenk (Slovenia) – Phases of Water
• Tatjana Kozlova – Johannes (Estonia) – Lost motion
• Tomasz Skweres (Austria) – Penrose Square
• Paulina Sundin (Sweden) and Monty Adkins (UK) – Rondures

Make sure not to miss the open rehearsal organised by ECSA’s member the Swedish Society of Composers (FST- Föreningen Svenska Tonsättare) in the framework of ECCO!

The workshop will be held at the Royal College for Music in Stockholm on 8th October 2019 from 15:00-17:00.

A link to reserve the tickets will be published on 12th August 2019.



SoundTrack_Cologne 16th edition


The media music conference SoundTrack_Cologne will take place for the 16th time from August 28th through August 31st. It is Europe’s leading congress for music and sound in film, games and media, and a source of inspiration for the growing landscape of festivals and congresses in Europe.

As every year, the conference is divided in the three different themed days “Music for Games” (August 29th), “Music for Film” (August 30th) and “Music for TV Series” (August 31st). As every year, there is also a focus on recent developments in Music Politics. Topics to be discussed are amongst others “Challenges for the implementation of the Copyright Directive” featuring ECSA’s Marc du Moulin and “Neighbouring copyright international”.

In some 40 round tables, panels, workshops and networking events with 80 speakers, the focus is on current developments in the culture, law, marketing and technics of media music as well as business cases, professionalization and networking.

Within the scope of the Theme Day “Music in Games” on August 29th the composers Jack Wall (“Call of Duty: Black Ops II-IIII”), Wilbert Roget, II (“Call of Duty: WWII”, “Mortal Kombat 11”) and Michael McCann (“Deus Ex: Human Revolution”) speak about their upcoming projects, challenges of video game composing, personal experiences and will be available for questions from the audience.

With Klaus Doldinger (“The Boat”, “Tatort”), Amelia Warner (“Mary Shelley”), John Murphy (“28 Days Later…”) and Davíð Þór Jónsson (“Woman at War”) big names from film industry are presented at film music day on August 30th.
The TV series music speakers on August 31th are Lolita Ritmanis (“Justice Leage vs. the Fatal Five“), Stefan Will (“4Blocks”), Maurizio Malagnini and his orchestrator Stefan Jehan (“Call The Midwife”), the duo Christoph M. Kaiser and Julian Maas (“3 Days in Quiberon”) and the trio Nora Baldenweg, Diego Baldenweg and Lionel Vincent Baldenweg („The Unlisted“).

Tickets and more info:

Photo credits: Muriel Hilti



IMC 6th World Forum on Music


The International Music Council invites you to a special celebration for its 70th anniversary in the framework of the 6th World Forum on Music to be held in Paris, September 28th – 1st October 2019. In recognition of the IMC Five Music Rights, which represent the basic values of our organization, the Forum theme is: “Give Me Five: The Five Music Rights in Action”. Do not miss the opportunity to meet and engage with colleagues from various areas of the music sector to broaden your horizons and find inspiration for new projects.

Latest News

NEWS FROM ECSA – March Edition

Authors’ Group position on MEP Semedo’s report on the situation of artists in Read More

Authors Group Position – European Parliament’s report on the situation of artists and the cultural recovery in the EU

15th March 2021 The Authors’ Group is Europe’s leading Authors’ network representing Read More

NEWS FROM ECSA – February Edition

The Launch of the “Your Music Your Future” International campaign ECSA Read More