Press release- European Authors welcome MEPs’ support for authors

20 June 2018, Brussels – European organisations representing authors have welcomed the European Parliament Legal Affairs Committee’s strong support for a fair and proportionate remuneration for authors and called upon all Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) to support the Legal Affairs Committee mandate.

The Authors’ Group represents more than half a million writers, composers, journalists, film directors, screenwriters and songwriters in Europe.

Today, the European Parliament’s Legal Affairs Committee (JURI) adopted its position on a Proposal for a Directive on copyright in the Digital single market. JURI MEPs backed by an overwhelming majority our European authors’ call for strong authors’ rights by strengthening the transparency triangle (Articles -14a to 16a), ensuring regular reporting by publishers, broadcasters and producers on the exploitation that is made of creative works, thus reinforcing  the contractual position of authors in Europe.

The Authors’ Group said: “We thank all JURI MEPs that have made this success possible and encourage all MEPs to support the Legal Affairs Committee mandate. We also call on Member States and the European Commission to follow the leadership of the European Parliament and show a similar support for improving the remuneration of authors. The Copyright Directive represents a once in a decade opportunity to establish a general principle of proportionate remuneration for authors and rebalance their contractual position in Europe and we cannot miss this chance. “

The Authors’ Group is composed of:

ECSA (European Composer and Songwriter Alliance)

EFJ (European Federation of Journalists)

EWC (European Writers Council)

FERA (Federation of European Film Directors)

FSE (Federation of Screenwriters in Europe)


Please find the PDF version of the press release here.

Latest News

News from Brussels – December 2018

  ECCO selection announced On the 3rd of December 2018, the ECCO Artistic Committee Read More


17th December 2018 Dušan Bavdek, the chair of the ECCO Working Group, sums up the Read More