News from Brussels – October 2016

International creators delegation exchange views with YouTube at Google Germany, Berlin

European and international creator representatives met with YouTube in Berlin for an exchange of views in rapid changing times of the music business. High on the agenda of the roundtable discussion was how to empower music writers in the digital future. Among the issues addressed were rights management, content ID and transparency. The meeting was organized by ECSA in the framework of the Creative Europe programme and within ECSA’s Creators’ Network.

The meeting was chaired by ECSA President Alfons Karabuda, with the participation of the ECSA delegation Bernard Grimaldi, Niels Mosumgaard, Helienne Lindvall, Markus Nordenstreng, Patrick Ager, Francisca Aas and Mårten Karlsson as well as Dennis Dreith, Executive Director of the AFM & SAG-AFTRA Intellectual Property Rights Distribution Fund.

Representing YouTube were Victoria Campoamor, Kiki Ganzemueller and Sonia Khan.


From the left: Francisca Aas, Helienne Lindvall, Sonia Khan, Niels Mosumgaard, Kiki Ganzemueller, Alfons Karabuda, Victoria Campoamor, Markus Nordenstreng, Dennis Dreith, Marten Karlsson, Bernard Grimaldi and Patrick Ager, 25 October 2016, Berlin (photo: Stefan Riedel)

ECSA and AFM & SAG-AFTRA IPR Distribution Fund set out structured transatlantic dialogue

On the occasion of the meeting with YouTube, ECSA and the AFM & SAG-AFTRA IPR Distribution Fund agreed to partner up for intensifying the collaboration of music creators in Europe and the United States of America. In a Memorandum of Understanding, both parties agreed to exchange privileged information regarding creators’ rights and music industry developments in the US and in the EU, as well as to represent each other on specific occasions.

ecsa-afm-sag-aftra-ipr-distribution-fund-agreement-signingDennis Dreith, Executive Director of AFM & SAG-AFTRA IPR Distribution Fund (left) and ECSA President Alfons Karabuda (right) sign the Memorandum of Understanding in Berlin on 25 October 2016 (photo: ECSA)

*** *** ***

About ECSA:

The European Composer and Songwriter Alliance (ECSA) represents over 30,000 professional composers and songwriters in 25 European countries. With 50 member organizations across Europe, the Alliance speaks for the interests of music creators of art & classical music (contemporary), film & audiovisual music, as well as popular music.

For the News from Brussels in pdf format, please click here.


Latest News

Website post

ECCO Brussels 2018 – Call for Works

ECSA’s ECF committee members are kindly invited to participate in the Call Read More
From the left: Patrick Ager (ECSA), Guillermo Diaz (Ciudadanos), Ivan Garcia-Pelayo (FEMA), José Andres Torres Mora (PSOE), Maria José Garcia-Pelayo (PP), Rosana Pastor (Podemos), Alfons Karabuda (ECSA), Bernard Grimaldi (ECSA), Antonio Narejos (FAIC), Javier de Juan (AMA), Luis Ivars (Musimagen), Santiago Perez Lopez (PP), John Groves (ECSA). Photo by: ECSA

News from Brussels – July 2017

Board meeting in Madrid Last week, the ECSA Board convened for a meeting in Madrid, Read More
Photo credit: Francois de Ribeaucourt

New Music Incubator – Call for Participants

New Music Incubator Konstancin is a project that brings together professional new Read More