17 July 2019

ECSA , the Swedish Society of Composers and the ECCO Artistic Committee are pleased to announce the official programme of the next edition of the ECCO concert, coming to Stockholm this October and featuring the Stockholm Saxophone Quartet.

On 4th July, the ECCO Artistic Committee consisting of chair Dušan Bavdek (Slovenia), Jana Andreevska (North Macedonia), Irina Hasnas (Romania) and Olli Virtaperko (Finland) and Jörgen Pettersson, member of the Stockholm Saxophone Quartet, selected the pieces for the 13th edition of the ECCO concert which will take place at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm on 8th October 2019.

Below the list of the composers and the respective pieces which will be performed by the wonderful Stockholm Saxophone Quartet:

  • Benjamin Lang (Germany) – Old Scatness
  • Nils Henrik Asheim (Norway) – Glasshus
  • Nina Šenk (Slovenia) – Phases of Water
  • Tatjana Kozlova – Johannes (Estonia) – Lost motion
  • Tomasz Skweres (Austria) – Penrose Square
  • Paulina Sundin (Sweden) and Monty Adkins (UK) – Rondures

Make sure not to miss the extra event that ECSA’s member the Swedish Society of Composers (FST- Föreningen Svenska Tonsättare) is organising in the framework of ECCO! This will be a workshop set up before the concert giving the audience the opportunity to observe the interaction between the composers and the ensemble during their open rehearsal.

The workshop will be held at the Royal College for Music in Stockholm on 8th October 2019 from 15:00-17:00.

The ensemble

This ECCO edition features the Stockholm Saxophone Quartet, an innovative and pioneering leader in Swedish contemporary music.

The members of the ensemble are:

  • Mathias Karlsen Björnstad – soprano saxophone
  • Jörgen Pettersson- alto saxophone
  • Leif Karlborg – tenor saxophone
  • Linn Persson – baritone saxophone

Photo: Hampus Andersson

The Stockholm Saxophone Quartet has made chamber music for saxophone their speciality– by composers from at home and abroad. They also specialise in advanced electro-acoustic music.

A recurrent feature of their work is the close collaboration they undertake with Swedish and foreign composers, as well as with the composers of the future, particularly at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm.

Time and location

ECCO concert
8th October 2019, 19:30
Royal College of Music
Valhallavägen 105, Stockholm

ECCO workshop
8th October 2019, 15:00 -17:00
Royal College of Music
Valhallavägen 105, Stockholm

A link to reserve the tickets will be published on 12th August 2019.

For more information contact European Affairs and Programme Manager Alicja Swierczek

Latest News

NEWS FROM ECSA – December edition

    The ECSA team would like to extend its sincerest and warmest wishes Read More


18 December 2019 The European Composer and Songwriter Alliance (ECSA) is pleased Read More

ECSA strongly condemns the malpractices of Epidemic Sound

  ECSA strongly condemns the malpractices of Epidemic Sound and its disrespect Read More